HUB DINING (Part 1) by Greg Smith, guest blogger

The major airlines in the U.S. and Canada usually have two or three hubs scattered across the continent. Invariably during our Naturalist Journeys we pass through at least one airline hub. Today I am going to write about one of my favorite restaurants in George Bush Intercontinental Airport (IAH) – Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen – http://www.pappadeaux.com/home/.

IAH is a jumping off point for many Naturalist Journeys trips to South & Central America and the Caribbean. Usually I have a little extra time between flights, so I head to Gate E3 in Terminal E where a truly unassuming set of stairs leads up to Pappadeaux’s.

I have always been greeted with a smile, even when there is a full house. Service has always been great and I am pretty sure that whomever wait staff is closest to the kitchen will pick up your order and serve you. So I like the service a lot!

And they do have a full bar! They certainly have a robust wine list (~25 reds and 25 whites) and some very good wines (try the Seghesio Sonoma Zin, especially the 2009, one of my currents faves!) Markup on their wines is reasonable with a max of 50% from the wines I know.

They have a good selection of beers and one of the things I like is that they are always featuring at least one, and sometimes two different seasonal beers. I have not been disappointed…

Remember, this restaurant serves fresh seafood and creole or Cajun cooking style. So expect etouffee, dirty rice, po boys and crawfish. But it is their “Chef Selections” that gets my attention.

It is all about fish, fresh fish. They are at an airport, so they do get their fish flown in daily! All of the “Selections” are served with a light sauce, not a heavy cream among them (is that good or bad…). There a variety of fresh veggies and each plate has a different combination. Some are served with dirty rice (and they have very tasty dirty rice), while others with different potato styles.

I do have a favorite dish – Costa Rican Mahi Quepos. It is a fair-sized blackened mahi filet that is topped with a light citrus herb sauce, lump crab meat, shrimp and basil. It is so tasty that I am trying to recreate the recipe at home for family and friends!!!

There is steak, lobster, gumbo and chicken, but if you are in the mood for pasta, you will have to find another restaurant. It is a chain restaurant, but I don’t use that word in a derisive manner. I think Pappadeaux’ success is partly based on growing the business and keeping to two tenets: Hiring friendly, efficient staff and having very fresh seafood that allows their chefs to create unique flavors and dishes.

I would allow about forty minutes for a meal (although I have taken less time…) and then enough time to get to your gate. The portions are generous so you might walk to your gate just a little more slowly than you usually would…

Travel safe and travel well,

Greg Smith

The Epicurean Birder is produced by the world-traveling guides of Naturalist Journeys, LLC. Join us on an adventure in Texas with Ultimate Big Bend/Davis Mountains (TX): Birding & Nature, April 20-28, 2012. For more information, go to www.naturalistjourneys.com.

Pappadeux Restaurant in Bush Intercontinental Airport

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment